The Senate

The Senate is known as the upper chamber of Parliament. The upper chamber is made up of 16 members as outlined by the Bahamian constitution. Members of the Senate are known as "Senators" who are unelected and appointed. Nine senators are chosen on the advice of the Prime Minister, four on the guidance of the Leader of the Opposition, and three on the counsel of the Prime Minister after discussion with the Leader of the Opposition. The Senate passes Bills or it can make amendments to a Bill if thought to be necessary. If amendments are made, they will then be approved by the House of Assembly.

Diagram of the Senate

The Senate is made up of 16 members. After the 2021 General Election, the Governor General appointed 12 Progressive Liberal Party Senators and 4 Free National Movement Senators. The constitution provides that the Senate is to be consisted of 16 members.